Living in New York Had Many Perks-The Story of Rico Suave

Another Super 80 story…

Full flight from LGA (New York) to DFW (Dallas). Hectic boarding– almost over. As I walk to the front of the cabin closing overhead bins, in strolls “Rico Suave” roller board in tow. As I write this, I can’t help but sing that song, “Ri-co, Sua-ve”…

Typically, on flights that go over a certain passenger load amount, an extra flight attendant should be sent. Hence, a crew of 3, should get a fourth…

In my head I was thinking, “Oh, great, now you show up– after the worst part of the flight is OVER!”

Conversation in my head continues, “Yeah, you’re way too cute to be straight”…

Perhaps a bit clichรฉ, because we know not ALL male stews are gay, right? But let’s be honest here people- I probably underestimated him by using the word “cute”. This guy wasn’t your average male flight attendant–and more like:’ breathtakingly handsome’! And I certainly did take note of this.

However, it’s important to mention that at this time I really wasn’t looking for a relationship. Oh, I had dated Joey and Vinny, and of course, Anthony (pronounced: Ant-ney). But that’s an entirely different story. I was pretty much OVER the dating scene. I was actually content being single.

Living in New York had many perks.

“Hop a flight to Miami Beach, or to Hollywood…”

On the weekends I would fly solo down to Miami and stay with some of my fabulous flight attendant friends based there. We would trade in our navy blue for something sultry and hit the Miami bar scene. We were just about invincible.

Some weekends, I would hop a flight to the Cayman islands and hang with friends there. It sounds crazy to say that now. Why would anybody give this up?

I would often drive the 4 hours to Salisbury, MD & the Eastern Shore, a place close to my heart. There I would relive the good old days with my US Airways friends. Nothing better than hanging in OC…or at the beach.

Yes, living in New York had many perks…

Ok, back to Rico Suave…TO BE CONTINUED…

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
Gallery | This entry was posted in airline, flight attendant, crew member, military spouse, Army, military life, love, wedding and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Living in New York Had Many Perks-The Story of Rico Suave

  1. joanne says:

    I love your writing!

  2. Danielle says:

    I agree with Joanne, I love your writing! Now get back to the story! I want to hear the rest! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Liz M. says:

    Ugh!! “To be continued”??? This is torture!! LOL!! I need more…um…like NOW!!! So, so great, Emily!!!

  4. christina says:

    I love your writing, too ๐Ÿ™‚ *pretty blonde hair!

  5. vicky says:

    u are an amazing writer, u should try to get this published…can’t wait for more…

Leave a Reply

