“I’ve Got the World on a String…” Rico Suave Part 2

It’s not just any story, it’s our story.

So I made my way to the first class cabin. Right there in the aisle, surrounded by first class passengers on either side, he reached out to shake my hand. We made our introductions, “Hi, I’m “Rico Suave”…I truly remember this moment like it was yesterday.

UP, UP and away…

Went through most of the flight totally oblivious that this would be the flight that changed my life forever.

The lead stew that day just happened to be a close friend. She approached me about halfway through the flight, “That guy really likes you”. My reaction, “What guy?” Apparently Mr. Suave had been grilling her about me. “Hmmm, I was dumbfounded.” Time to take another look at the situation.

It was sitting in the last row of coach, after all our duties were done that I fell under the spell–

It was unnerving, exciting, magical, and completely unexpected.

In the 3 hours that it takes to get to Dallas, I was now chit chatting with Mr. Suave, exchanging numbers, and yes, planning trips to Puerto Rico to meet mom. Yes, gentleman, he had the moves like Jagger.

I remember thinking, “Ok, we just met. I’m not sure that I’m ready to meet your mother just yet.”

However, I did agree to go out sometime soon.

The flight ended, and we said our goodbye’s, or so I thought. Rico Suave was off to another flight, and we got a different “extra” flight attendant for the flight back.

We prepared for our return to New York. I walked up the jet bridge to pull tickets at the gate, except it was more like floating. Insert Frankie here singing: “I’ve got the world on a string, sittin on a rainbow, got the string around my finger. What a world, what a life, I’m in love!”…

Suddenly Mr. Suave was back with a boarding card in hand. Surprised, he tells me about how he was supposed to *deadhead back to NYC on a different flight, but had called *crew scheduling to have it changed to this one.

*Two things here:

1). *To “deadhead”, which was the strangest word to me when I first began flying, and has absolutely nothing to do with the Grateful Dead. This is when a crew member simply sits in a passenger seat (usually in uniform) on any flight, getting them from one point to another.

2). *The fact that crew scheduling even changed the flight for him was probably an even bigger clue that the stars were aligning in some miraculous way, composing the greatest adventure of my life.

So I get back on the plane, not sure whether it’s true love, or he’s a crazy stalker. Luckily, it was the former, and 12 years later- I remember this like it was yesterday!

Having been such a complete skeptic and jaded, he seemed ‘too good to be true’. As I worked, and he sat there making backwards glances at me, the flirtation continued until we arrived in New York and really did say farewell. Β Stay tuned for our first date & the turning point.

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
This entry was posted in airline, flight attendant, crew member, military spouse, Army, military life, love and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “I’ve Got the World on a String…” Rico Suave Part 2

  1. Holli Morales says:

    Loving this! Please hurry with the next chapter πŸ˜‰

  2. Liz M. says:

    I’m sitting here with a grin on my face and just itchin’ for that first date story!! This is an amazing way to get to know you better, my dear friend!!! As always, you’re leaving me wanting MORE!!! Great job, girl. πŸ™‚

  3. Kristen R. says:

    Super sweet, Em! I love this!

  4. Bri says:

    I can not wait to read more! You’re doing an amazing job, and your story is so sweet! Keep up the great work, and don’t leave us hanging long! ;]]

  5. joanne says:

    Yeah, so you need to write faster woman!! Keeping us all in suspense here πŸ˜‰ I am loving the blog!

Leave a Reply

