Oklahoma

Ok, I will be the first to admit that I did not have the best attitude when I arrived. That is what you get when fate sends you to a place you never even remotely had a desire to live.

Go easy on me fellow military spouses. I may be new at this, but I’m no wallflower.

Getting sent to Oklahoma was a sort of “buzz kill” for our first big army adventure, having lived in several states on the east coast, and travelling all over the world. It did get better though, and the story will have a happy ending.

January

Snow on the ground, as flakes continue to fall. I watch the movers pack up the contents of our little house on Rosehill Road.

It was our first home and we made it our own. We lived there for over seven years, mostly spent renovating with our heart and soul. So much character. Like a little English cottage with its stone walkways. It fit us.

Campfires and sled rides. Sometimes a house isn’t just a home. It’s where we brought our babies home for the first time– where they learned to crawl, and took their first steps.

Leaving would always be hard, especially when you didn’t want to.

Destination Oklahoma.

One last glance and I can hardly look. A moment suspended in time.

Say goodbye, as we pass over the rolling hills of Ohio, and onto the sheer flat Oklahoma plains.

Winter time: bare trees, no snow, just dead, brown grass. Barren.

A page being turned in the book of our life. But this story is really just beginning.

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
Gallery | This entry was posted in airline, flight attendant, crew member, military spouse, Army, military life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oklahoma

  1. Bri says:

    I love this one, Emily. I didn’t have the same sadness about leaving where I was when we came to Oklahoma- I even looked forward to it. But as we all know, Lawton leaves much to be desired, and driving into a town that looks like it’s been falling apart for years was a big disappointment. I look forward to reading more of your adventures! =]

  2. Liz M. says:

    Awesome! I loved your truthfulness in saying OK (at first) was a buzz kill! You leave me wanting to know more about your first impression as a new Army wife!

  3. kat says:

    i want to read more!!! im about to move to oklahoma in 6month and arent really ‘happy’ either. i’m european and just dont know what to expect 🙂

    • Hi Kat! I just wanted to tell you that it did get better & it really is what you make of it! I haven’t had a chance to write the next part of that story, but soon! Are you coming to Ft. Sill? If so, there’s a wonderful military community here- with many great people & they truly make all the difference!

  4. Melissa Diaz says:

    Love the honesty in this! I too will be going to Ft Sill and am less than thrilled. Of all duty locations my husband can go, it was on the bottom of the list of places I desire to go & it wasn’t even one of the options given to us, only making the assignment that much less desired… Lol, I hope it isn’t as bad as I’ve heard though…

Leave a Reply

