Mil Spouse Just Like You- Making The Most Of My Time Here!

If you haven’t noticed that there isn’t much to do in Lawton, you haven’t been here very long! Oh, and there’s no Target, ok. But what there IS, is a huge community of invaluable opportunities, support, and immensely diverse individuals, who ALL feel pretty much the same way that you might! My advice, trade that negative attitude in for some positivity & motivation to do something good or worthwhile, and my motto: “Make the Most of Your Time Here!” Nobody wants to hear you whine anyway, and we’ve all been there, trust me!

Something little can turn into something BIG!

Take myself, for example. I arrived here in January of 2011. A few friends and I started a small coffee group that met weekly at Starbucks. In March of 2011, I took over as the ‘admin’ for a little Facebook page called ‘A Place For Fort Sill Wives & GF’s’ that had about 20 ‘likes’.

With social media as our guide, that weekly coffee group became ‘Ladies Coffee Night’, every Thursday from 8-10pm at Starbucks. That little page has over 900 ‘likes’ to date, and is still growing! With additional weekly events, such as: ‘Wednesdays Brunch Bunch’, every week from 9-11am at Atlanta Bread Co., and frequent play dates & meet-up’s, ‘A Place for Fort Sill Wives & Girlfriends’ has become an overwhelmingly positive resource for military spouses to unite in support of one another!

How did I meet all of these people? As a former flight attendant, I have never had a problem talking to people that I do not know. The most popular complaint that I heard from those that I met was, “how difficult it is to meet people here.” Since I wasn’t having that problem at all, I became a sort of “connector” for the masses! With free fitness classes, volunteer opportunities, free programs for kids, as well as adults, there are plenty of chances to get out and meet people. Meeting so many wonderful people here has truly made all the difference in my life! So what are YOU waiting for?

You can find me volunteering for Army Community Service (ACS) as the lead volunteer for the Caravan Club. The Caravan Club gives military parents and their children (ages birth – 5 years) a fun meet up experience at local venues. I also volunteer with Fort Sill’s Explorers Club, where parents and their children (ages 3 – 5) meet every Tuesday from 1:30 – 2:30 p.m. at the Graham Resiliency Training Campus (GRTC).

Want to volunteer? Join Army One Source at: http://www.myarmyonesource.com/default.aspx , and check out “Volunteer Tools”. Besides being totally fulfilling & a sense of ‘giving back’ to the community: you can also log your volunteer hours, which stays with you wherever you may go, looks great on a resume, and allows for FREE daycare in many instances!

(Taken from an unpublished article I had written for an FRG newsletter).

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
Gallery | This entry was posted in airline, flight attendant, crew member, military spouse, Army, military life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mil Spouse Just Like You- Making The Most Of My Time Here!

  1. Bri says:

    I love it, Emily! ;]

  2. Excellent. It’s what I tell people all the time. You actually have to get out of your house to find friends and things to do. There are museums, the zoo, Medicine park always has stuff going on, lakes, hiking, geocaching and of course volunteering.

  3. Alma says:

    I will forever be thankful for meeting you – I would have never met the people I did. You rock ❀

  4. Liz M. says:

    Love it!! It’s not only stern (“nobody wants to hear you whine anyway” — SO TRUE!), but it also is super informative. I’m all about learning something new every day!! Spread the knowledge, sista!

  5. Holli M. says:

    Thank you Emily! This was a wake up call. I really do need to get out more and volunteer!

  6. joanne says:

    I love you. You are an inspiration to many πŸ™‚

  7. Sarah says:

    You are very good at what you do Emily!

Leave a Reply

