Unimaginable Reality

Each day I wake up and I do the things I always do. I awaken my children, dress them, and feed them. I take my son to his school and walk him down the hall to his kindergarten classroom. Each day– I think of those parents in CT. who did the same thing one Friday in December. Never again to see their precious babies. What could I or anyone ever say or do to make the pain or emptiness go away. No amount of prayer or gun control laws can change that now. I think of them when I kiss and hug my little boy goodbye for the day. I think of them when I pick him up, happy to see that little smiling face again. The sheer empty void they must feel now- I can only imagine. The sick feeling that lies in the pit of my stomach is nothing compared to their reality. We send our innocent children off to school where we think they are safe until the day’s end. What if that was the last time we saw them? They have no idea of the unimaginable evil that exists in this world. When my babies were born, I would watch them as they slept–thinking how perfect they are. Perfect, and perfectly innocent. Trying to wrap my mind around why anyone would want to hurt them. As parents, we spend most of our lives protecting our children– and when something like this happens, we have to say to ourselves, “that could have been my child”.

I don’t know what the answer is, but I know I do not want this to happen again.
I didn’t have a lot of religion growing up or a perfect childhood either, but I have compassion, know right from wrong, and respect life. To this day, I have not turned on the news, nor do my children know anything about this horrific tragedy.

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
This entry was posted in airline, flight attendant, crew member, military spouse, Army, military life, love, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

