The anatomy of “liking” a status or anything else on facebook.

What does “like” really mean on facebook?

For me, the “like” button can mean a number of things:

I actually like what you’re saying (your picture, whatever it may be)

I agree with you

I understand you

I acknowledge what you are saying

My “like” usually has only one of these meanings at a time. I generally stay away from politics or religion.

Sadly, I have come to the realization that Facebook is ruining my life slowly. It seems that every comment, like, or tag is somehow scrutinized to death, twisted, or misinterpreted. The wording isn’t right, the tone comes off wrong, it’s endless. The conclusion– is that I will be spending less time on facebook, and I have lost a couple of friends over it.

But I’ve given up. I just can’t explain myself any longer. It’s social media people, we are not delving into the human psyche here. If you really want to know what I think, I probably won’t tell you anyway because I’m too nice, and it’s just not worth the negative energy involved. But I certainly will not tell you on facebook. I probably won’t delete you either, but rather, put a band-aid on it, and simply hide you.

Just because I share things on Facebook, that’s not my entire life- I’m actually out here living it.

And I will admit, I have gone back and changed my answer, realizing that perhaps I was unnecessarily instigating something. We are all guilty. It’s the perfect venue for passive-aggressive behavior. Been there, done that. One ambiguous post to another.

It is hard to remember, but important to always ask ourselves, “would this be something I would like to hear?” But why is everyone so concerned about everyone else anyway? And who are all of these people?

Don’t get me wrong, I love it! I love that I can stay in touch with people across the miles, and share pictures, because so many friends and family are far away. And I am not tagging you in a post from our fabulous day together, because I want to make anyone else feel left out. That is so NOT who I am. We have all felt a little envious at one time or another.

A common and recurring theme in my life: you can’t please everyone–oh, but I do try. People pleaser 101.

There’s a real world out there and I am a part of it– You should join it.

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
This entry was posted in Army, military life, facebook, friends. relationships, love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The anatomy of “liking” a status or anything else on facebook.

  1. Sarah says:

    Well put.

Leave a Reply

