The Great Ones

I used to think I was larger than life. I lived in New York and I traveled all over the world. Lunch in New York, breakfast in Paris…

Oh, how a girl can get knocked down a few notches.

Now there are times when I do whatever it takes to get through another day. I help other people do things to get through another day…just one of the little people trying to make a difference in the smallest possible ways. Sometimes it’s the smallest ways that make the greatest difference.

When I saw her on the bus, standing there with her clip-board and smile, checking off names, I longed to be her. Her complete approachability, the way that she made everyone feel welcome, and included. I was in awe of her, and aspired to be more like her.

I never thought that a bus ride would be the place where I would make some of the most treasured friends a girl could have.

Little did I know, that she would become one of my dearest friends. A true inspiration. If it was not for Liz McChesney, and putting myself out there among strangers that day, who knows where I might be right now.

039 - Copy

Liz

Before I moved here, I told friends back home how hard it was going to be to make new friends. I did not want to move and start all over. They argued with me to the contrary, of course. Well, they were right.

I could have become your average complainer, whining about how awful everything was. Alienating myself and making everyone miserable.

It was a turning point.

As I watched her greet all of the guests boarding the bus, I never thought that I would be taking her place and doing the very same thing just a few short months later.

It was the beginning of my passion for volunteering. I always wanted to do something where I felt like I was making a difference in someone’s life. Liz McChesney made a difference in my life, and everyone else I met on the bus that day: Jasmin Williams, Joanne Martinez, Bri Chavez…

Jasmin

Jasmin

I’m a believer that everything happens for a reason. People cross our paths for a reason. Boy, was I lucky that day, and every day after!

“Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can be great”.–Mark Twain

Surround yourself with things and people that inspire you–Anonymous

Bri

Bri

Joanne

Joanne

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
This entry was posted in Army, military life, friends. relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

