It’s Not Me, It’s You

hahaFacebook’s new motto should be: “Facebook…destroying friendships one person at a time”

I won’t lie, I love facebook. I enjoy keeping in touch with friends and family all over the world. It’s how I communicate with many people, share photos of our kids, and just keep up with the day to day.

Do I really know all of those people on my friends list? Probably not, but I do try to only add people that I have actually met. I guess we each have our own facebook rules and boundaries. What are yours?

But what happens when you get unfriended? It’s probably happened to you, and it’s definitely happened to me.

I generally do not unfriend people. Not because they didn’t ‘like’ my status, or comment on a picture. Not because of something someone else told me about them. Not because they sent me a gazillion game requests, or they post way too many ‘selfies’. Not for too many religious, fitness, or political posts. I mean, unless they have really offended me somehow, and they would certainly know it– I’m a grown up and understand that everyone has varying opinions and that is ok. We do not have to agree.

I’ve never understood people that go through their ‘friends list’ and make it known to everyone that they are going to clean house. A deleting spree, so to speak…did you make the cut?

It happens so rarely. If I find someone annoying, or overly negative on a daily basis, I just ignore them. It seems much more pleasant, and overall less stressful. Mostly it’s too much work and I’m too busy to put more thought into it– besides writing about it because I love to write and this is how I express myself.

Truthfully, it could be months before I even notice. But when I do…

I just have a few questions.

If I have no idea why you unfriended me from facebook, am I allowed or supposed to ask?

Do I have a right to know?

Do you want me to notice?

Why me and not the 20 mutual other people we know?

Are we still friends on the outside? Should I speak to you in passing, or should we ignore one another?

In some ways, it’s like you have deleted a person from your life. You no longer want to share that part of you with them. So part of me thinks that no, we are not friends anymore. It can become very personal.

Everyone will say, but “It’s just facebook.” The fact is, the stuff we are sharing on there is often personal. So how can it not be personal.

It seems like social media has become such a huge part of our lives. Has it gotten to the point where we need more than one facebook account: The people we actually know, and the ones we add before we know them?

Another part of me thinks, yeah, it is just facebook, and I already put way too much thought into it. You obviously have your reasons of which I will never ask.

It’s not me, it’s you.

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
Quote | This entry was posted in airline, flight attendant, crew member, military spouse, Army, military life, celebrities, east coast, facebook, friends. relationships, love, party. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

