Lost and Found

The hard part is over now–or is it. We’ve relocated. We’ve packed up our lives and moved. Away from our friends, our jobs, our schools, our familiarity, our comfort zones.

What follows now is a series of getting lost, literally, and finding myself. In some ways reinventing myself. It takes time.

Wouldn’t a GPS for life be great!

Feeling a bit disconnected. Waking up with no sense of purpose. Stranger in a strange land. Hate being the new person. Feeling like I have to prove myself.

It’s another phase…like I tell my children. A new learning curve.

Starting all over and building a new life for you and your family. It can be challenging. Even for me.

When you’re outgoing, people take it for granted that you’re always happy and in a good mood. Always ready and eager to please. Always willing to make the first move. Wrong. You’re not. Not always.

You will often find me quietly taking notes in my head during these times.

Knowing what needs to be done, but taking my time to make the first step.

Fact: the person holding the position isn’t always the best person for the job.

As I write this, I realize and have accepted that I am not a patient person. That is one of my greatest challenges. Waiting in long lines does kill me a little bit each time.

Frequently described as a “Type A” personality. Yes, I admit it. I am driven. I keep a to-do list. I am often a perfectionist or overachiever, and I do have a strong sense of not wasting time.

But I am “Type A” enough to be aware of it, and conscientious enough to realize that traits such as these sometimes have a negative connotation. So I have to tone it down a bit.

However, I sleep great at night, because I am exhausted. I invest a lot into relationships, the people I care about, and the tasks that I undertake. Anyone that knows me, knows that.

So here I am world, trying to go with the flow, the best I know how. Trying not to come off as a “know it all” even though this isn’t my first rodeo. Getting my foot into doors that seem closed. Putting myself out there and searching for my niche.

Being a military spouse is rewarding, but also has many challenges. It is difficult leaving jobs we love, schools, teachers, and friends. Hopefully through my writing someone out there realizes they are not alone, and that it can be tough for everyone. And I have been there.

 

 

 

 

 

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
This entry was posted in airline, flight attendant, crew member, military spouse, Army, military life, friends. relationships, love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

