Guns And Grocery Shopping

[Disclaimer: A special note- we can still be friends even if we don’t agree on something. This is solely my opinion- and me expressing myself through writing. Not really looking for an argument with anyone. TIA!]

If you live in America and believe there’s not a gun problem, you need to watch the news one evening.

Gun violence. It defines America today. It’s been four years since I gave up watching the news, because if I didn’t, I would never leave my home.

Nowadays when I go somewhere I wonder if and when someone is going to start shooting. I think of it often–almost every place I go. I look for escape routes, and ways that I can protect my family.

This doesn’t seem normal to me.

Sadly, it is becoming more and more commonplace, and more normal everyday.

Recently in Wal-Mart with my children, I was startled when I walked past a man openly carrying a gun.

It made me feel uneasy. Annoyed. Angry.

I hurried my children away from him and avoided him the rest of the time we were there.

My first thought was,”why?” This is a store full of people. Families buying food (and sadly, just to show you I am not naive- guns, probably- but we’re not talking about that today).

Why do you need to carry your gun here. And more importantly, I don’t know you, or whether or not you’re a responsible gun owner.

Since you are exercising your right to open carry, do I have the right to ask if you’ve had a background check, if there’s a restraining order against you, or if you’re a straight up nut job?

I feel very uncomfortable with you toting your gun around while I’m purchasing dinosaur egg oatmeal for my kids. Truthfully, I don’t feel comfortable running into random strangers openly carrying their firearms anywhere.

Do you think you are keeping us safe, because I don’t feel safe with you around. I own guns too, which are kept sensibly/securely locked away. I have never felt the need to take one shopping with me.

It alarms me to look ahead to a future where everyone is armed, and you can’t tell the bad guys from the good guys.

 

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
This entry was posted in airline, flight attendant, crew member, military spouse, Army, Army, military life, deployment, east coast, facebook, friends. relationships, love, military life, open carry, Washington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

