A Lesson In Stength

I cannot help but feel the interconnection of my life sometimes.

Never on this side before.

I have watched from the airplane window as a family stood on the tarmac,

Flag draping a casket, as it is unloaded.

Awestruck, everyone stops in the somber moment to pay tribute.

Strange to see that plane in the background now, a much different perspective.

Captain Wynkoop

How to even find words when a loss is so great.

A loss that could happen to any of us.

Emotion, solidarity, and empathy make me write.

When a soldier deploys we somewhat know that they may be in harms way.

The potential is there for something bad to happen.

Of course, it does not make you any more prepared.

But bad things happen all the time, and yes, even during training missions.

I spend my time avoiding thoughts like these.

It can drive a person mad worrying about a great many “what if’s”,

But what if–

It was you this time,

And you awakened to the sad news.

You were now alone,

Left to raise your family alone.

What do you say to your babies,

What would you do,

When everyone is gone.

Replay those last words you had with your loved one.

Think of your final moments together.

Forever repeat the memories in your mind.

Wonder if just one thing might have made something happen differently,

Wish to reverse time.

I could only hope to find the strength I have witnessed in a heroic woman,

To persevere, to shine with courage, and to honor, as she has.

I am awestruck by her.

Dedicated to a sweet friend when there are no words.  NOTE: I did not take this photo. I was not there, but I felt very inspired when I saw it.

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
This entry was posted in airline, Army, deployment, east coast, facebook, flight attendant, friends. relationships, love, military life, military spouse, seaside towns, wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

