Regrets

 

**Sid Vicious version:

“Regrets, I’ve had a few, but then again, too few to mention…”

It’s true. I’ve done a great many things, but I do have regrets.

Oh, there are lots of small ones which all seem to lead to the same thing: time wasted. Time wasted on the wrong relationships, the wrong job. Worrying about trivial things: What everyone else thinks, how fat I WASN’T, who likes me or doesn’t. Who cares! If I could have a conversation with 18 or 19 year old Emily…What I wouldn’t say to her!

My greatest regret though is not having completed college right after high school. Which leads me to where I am today, a returning adult student.

It feels a little ridiculous in some ways. I’ve had one career already. Am I too old to start an entirely new one. Is it too late to decide what I want to be when I grow up. The truth is, it seems like it has taken me this long to figure it out. And of course, I have changed my mind more than a few times.

Each choice I’ve made, each path I’ve taken has led me to where I am today. Doing it any differently may have risked fate turning out another way.

So here I am finally finishing the degree I started. And once I’ve made up my mind do to something, move on, or let go (and I’ve learned that I can do anything I put my mind to!), I’m pretty good about accomplishing goals I set. Some things just take longer than others.

Regrets of yesterday are nothing more than the goals of tomorrow.

Welcome back to late nights pumped full of coffee.

 

**** I did finally graduate in2016 with my Bachelors degree, and Cum Laude!

 

 

 

 

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
This entry was posted in airline, airline, flight attendant, crew member, military spouse, Army, Army, military life, beach, college, crew member, deployment, east coast, facebook, flight attendant, friends. relationships, learning, love, military life, military spouse, pere lachaise, seaside towns. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

