Looking for a house in the town I live in

Starting to have a love-hate relationship with this town.
After a year of looking for a home to buy-

New ad:

Looking for a home in [fill in town here]?

“Ask me first. Chances are I’ve had an offer on that house, since I’m single-handedly trying to see how many home inspections I can pay for in one summer.”

They will all fail, by the way.

Finding a house in this small 2.07 square miles has become quite a challenge.

Having a thorough inspector has probably saved us thousands–

But also broken my heart into pieces each time.

I get my hopes up- to be continually let down.

With our meager budget– we mostly bear the cost of “location”, while inheriting faulty foundations and rodent infestations.

Oh, don’t get me wrong. I love the idea of hundred year old homes- the history, the charm. We call those “Emily houses.” You know one when you see it.

I don’t expect you to get it.
When I was 18 I moved to the East Coast on my own to be close to the ocean.

I got closer and closer, eventually making my way up the coast to Long Island, a few blocks from the sea.

So you see, this need I have to be close to the water is not new.

I have spent my whole life trying to get closer to salt-air.

The moment we drove to the end of Union Avenue, I felt like I belonged here. I looked up and said, “yes, I belong in a house up there, overlooking the Sound.”

end of the block

Well that hasn’t happened yet, but I will not admit defeat.

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
This entry was posted in airline, Army, assateague isalnd, beach, bermuda, celebrities, crew member, east coast, flight attendant, love, military life, military spouse. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

