Pipe Dream

Pipe dream: a hope, wish, or dream that is impossible to achieve or not practical–Merriam-Webster.

In a perfect world, flights would take off and arrive on time. Airplanes would not break down, and people would not be rude.

Flight attendants would get based at their first choice upon completion of 6-8 weeks of “charm farm” treachery. They would not have to commute, or fly stand-by, or spend extra money for a “crash pad”. Family would live closer where they could be more helpful, or the job would actually pay enough to have a nanny, or a husband that could quit his job to be a stay-at-home dad.

But that’s not reality. I know this, because I have lived it. The above mentioned became many of the same reasons why I quit almost nine years ago after the birth of our first child.

20120829-144920.jpgss6ss2ss5.jpg

Do I miss it? Sure, there are things I miss about it. Like…

Layovers in some amazing locales, for sure, and a hotel room all to myself. Being able to travel for free or next to nothing, which certainly fed my need for adventure, and gave me the ability to visit family and friends more often. The comraderie of my fellow super stews, of course, there’s nothing like it. And yes, in some ways that feeling of I-have-this-really-cool-job-and-you-don’t-trotting through an airport in my uniform, pulling my roller board behind me…as I crowd to the head of the security line.

It’s those things that seem to make me do this to myself once every few years. I begin to long for a trip, an adventure (which I cannot afford). I start to recollect the glory days of my flying career and youth, and consider applying to an airline as a flight attendant all over.

Yes, I desperately need a vacation somewhere, but seriously, not enough to put myself through training all over again at a new airline, back at the bottom of the seniority list, with a bunch of twenty-something newbies without a clue about what being “out on the line” is really like. “Flight attendant school” does not really teach you that.

Red lipstick and hair buns, panty hose, and spending days learning how to fill out various forms that only take minutes in real flying life. Fakeness and how to be polite in the face of complete reproach. Sure, there are some very important lessons like putting out fires, evacuating airplanes, and saving lives, but I can’t.  I just can’t. 

newbi-001

So thank you “blank” airlines, but I reject your video interview opportunity at this time and probably forever, actually.

The main reasons that I quit in the first place are the same as those whom I’d miss while on a trip and on the road, in an environment which I had very little control over…longing for them to be there beside me. This I know. Plus, the older I get the less I really care about what anyone else thinks anyway, truly.

So, there you have it. However, if an opportunity to work at an airline in another capacity, such as training or safety were to arise, well, hmmmm…that might be different. Also, it’s not really a pipe dream if you have already achieved it.

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
This entry was posted in 911, airline, airline, flight attendant, crew member, military spouse, Army, beach, bermuda, celebrities, chincoteague island, college, crew member, east coast, facebook, famous people, flight attendant, friends. relationships, love, military life, military spouse, paris, pere lachaise, seaside towns, Washington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

