Two-Way Street

Sometimes it gets old always being the one to initiate a friendship, or keep one going; a conversation, a phone call, a visit, a card, a letter, a gift, or a message. It’s tiring. And for years in many of my relationships, I have been the one to do this.

Some have come to expect it without ever realizing it’s a two-way street. Oh, I’m not saying it’s like this with everyone, but when have you done any of those things lately? There are definitely those of us that can pick up– right where we left off, after any duration of time, and I truly appreciate that.

But incase you haven’t noticed, I may not have been in touch lately, and I’m only a little bit sorry about it. I mean, truthfully, sometimes I forget, or I don’t have time. It has no personal meaning about or against an individual/persons. I still feel the same about you. It’s just me taking care of my own life. After all, I am the star of it, along with three other main characters.

Truth is, I don’t always offer to share personal troubles of my own with everyone, in fact, rarely. And believe me, my life is far from perfect. Maybe if you’d asked.

And maybe it sounds harsh, but most of the time I have too much going on to remember or worry about everything that is happening in everyone else’s life. It doesn’t mean that I don’t care about you. But it’s hard enough these days just to keep my own life together. Does that make me a bad person or friend? Well, if it does, than so be it.

I know, for years I have been the one doing it. And because of this, it seems that I am not allowed to stop. EVER. Without pissing a few people off and even losing friends because of it.

But seriously, it works both ways, and I shouldn’t have to do all the work. Thanks.

 

About Reflections of a Super Stew

Ex-flight attendant turned army wife- Reflecting on the life of 2 flight attendants based in NYC. Travelling the world together, marrying the weekend after 911, Proving love conquers all as the adventures continue. Currently serving in the US Army. I reserve the rights to all written blog posts, and photos at https://superstew39.wordpress.com/ and https://www.facebook.com/superstew39
This entry was posted in 911, airline, airline, flight attendant, crew member, military spouse, Army, Army, military life, ball, beach, college, crew member, deployment, east coast, facebook, flight attendant, friends. relationships, learning, love, military life, military spouse, Washington, wedding. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

